PDA

View Full Version : Starchoice launch Jan 03



**DONOTDELETE**
11-06-2002, 01:10 PM
I understand it will still be two birds not three
in the air.
anyone know different?

**DONOTDELETE**
11-07-2002, 12:11 AM
You sound like a really knowledgable "satellite dealer" NOT!!!!

davidnb
11-08-2002, 08:26 PM
There are launching one, or leasing transponders would be a better term for it. I beleive F2 is going to replaced E2.
E2 will be used for backup

snoman
11-08-2002, 09:37 PM
F2 bumps E2 at 111.
E2 to share E1's slot at 118.

I_M_Norm_Al
11-09-2002, 12:08 PM
Or will Telesat go to Industry Canada to ask for temporary rights to Canada's last C/ku slot (114.3 I believe) for E2? It's a Canada only slot so E2's configuration would the only type of satellite to be allowed to use that slot.

snoman
11-09-2002, 02:32 PM
I'm not sure what the scoop is on 114.
F3 if it ever comes to fruition will probably occupy this slot.

Arthur
11-09-2002, 11:32 PM
I thought F1 had problems that will shorten it's life and F2 would take over for it, and F3 will fill in for F2?????

**DONOTDELETE**
11-10-2002, 01:01 AM
F2 can only be deployed to 111 degrees because the KA-band transponders can only be used at that licensed slot.

Arthur
11-10-2002, 11:13 AM
So as F1's power loss causes them to shut down transponders to keep the remaining transponders up to snuff, is it safe to ass_u_me that programming will be switched to F2 at 111 degrees?

Big_Cheese
11-10-2002, 12:46 PM
No - due to north/south ku beams on F1. What will likely happen is that C Band will start to be turned off and a new C Band only satellite located at 107.3. Telesat has signed an agreement with Panamsat for C Band backup on Galaxy 3C (The first Boeing 702 with the redsigned solar panels)

F3 is licenced for 118.7 Boeing has not yet received an order for it yet. Industry Canada approval for F3 requires it to be launched by the end of 2003. The E1 licence to operate at 118.7 is only a temporary one.

**DONOTDELETE**
11-10-2002, 04:08 PM
Telesat has signed an agreement with Panamsat for G-3R not G-3C.

Mr_Niceguy
11-10-2002, 05:36 PM
Incorrect. G3R is moving east at .4/day. It is presently at 75.5 West (moved from 95W). Telesat has contracted for a backup satellite to be moved to 111.1 by June 2003. At that time E2 will be turned off and the backup will takover until F2 is launched and operational (October 2003).

Telesat has contracted with Panamsat to have backup space on G3C at 95 West. In case of a problem on F1 C/ku commercial customers can be moved to G3C quickly. SC would have 30 ku transponders on the E2 temporary replacement.

In January 2003; Boeing, Telesat and the insurers will meet to hammer out the build and launch schedule for the F1 replacement (tentatively called H1)

Telesat will be in violation of their Industry Canada licence for 118.7 as of December 2003. Rather than build F3, they will simply turn off E1 as E1's temporary licence for 118.7 expires Dec/03. But when you are owned by BCE, you can do whatever you want in Canada. N'est pas?

Arthur
11-10-2002, 06:56 PM
</font><blockquote><font class="small">In reply to:</font><hr />
SC would have 30 ku transponders on the E2 temporary replacement.


[/ QUOTE ]

How many of the 30 will they use?

Mr_Niceguy
11-10-2002, 07:25 PM
SC would use 30, Netstar 1, Chum 1
Because the Netstar and Chum transponders are primarily broadcast transponders, both would also have service on G3C.

Same backup plan if F2/E2 have catastrophe causing total service loss - in this case SC would have 30 on F1, Netstar 1, Chum 1 - all other NA services shifted to G3C, SA services shifted to Satmex 6 or some other Loral satellite

SC customers with ellipticals would simply have new maps sent, round dish customers get the wrenches out. Some services would be discontinued of course.

This is no different than if Expressvu loses a Nimiq completely. They would have to run on 1 satellite until an Echostar backup satellite could be put in place.

pauldryan
11-10-2002, 08:59 PM
</font><blockquote><font class="small">In reply to:</font><hr />
SC customers with ellipticals would simply have new maps sent, oval dish customers get the wrenches out.


[/ QUOTE ]
What's the difference between the two? I always thought that Oval dishes were the same as ellipticals.

Paul

Mr_Niceguy
11-10-2002, 09:28 PM
Thanks for pointing out my mistake. Of course the right word was "round dish' not oval. I edited the post

merci

Arthur
11-10-2002, 09:39 PM
Not really, get out the tape measure they are oval, longer from top to bottom.

Mr_Niceguy
11-10-2002, 09:56 PM
I have been recorrected. I should have said "the single LNBF/non elliptical dish"