PDA

View Full Version : satellite finder setting for McAllen, Texas



**DONOTDELETE**
10-18-2002, 04:27 PM
We have a Star Choice large elliptical dish and are trying to set up in McAllen Texas. The closest city for settings that Star Choice gave us was Kingsville. We are being very unsuccessful at getting a signal. Perhaps our settings for azimuth and elevation are wrong. Anyone with any advice and/or the correct settings for McAllen or Mission Texas, we would love to hear from you. Thanks.

Ranger_Gord
10-18-2002, 05:01 PM
Link:

http://www.global-cm.net/CAN/point/USS-Z.html

SatMike
10-18-2002, 06:21 PM
That's not going to help him that much. He has an eliptical dish that has to be pointed at Anik E2 to receive servive from F1.

Maybe that's his problem now? He's trying by pointing at F1.

bob5610
10-18-2002, 06:38 PM
Try www.freewaysupport.com (http://www.freewaysupport.com) they have a toll free number on their web site.

Ranger_Gord
10-18-2002, 06:51 PM
There is no E2 viewable in Texas. All that's necessary is to follow the instructions for F1. He won't be able to do dual satellite until F2 is up

For F1 in McAllen Az = 57.8 Elevation = 199.8

ClassicSat
10-18-2002, 07:25 PM
He can however, set up the dish as if it were there though.

SatMike
10-21-2002, 12:51 AM
Exactly. He should set it up the correct way. When F2 is up he won't have to start looking for it.

canuck_in_exile
10-21-2002, 04:36 PM
As others have pointed-out above, you must point your dish in the general direction of 111.1. Therefore, toss the switch (for now) and use only the LNB for SAT A. and aim dish for EL 56.2, Skew 114.3 Az 199.6

It doesn't help when people say you should have no problems, but really it should be pretty straight forward.

Good luck,

canuck_in_exile