PDA

View Full Version : signal cutting out - follow up



**DONOTDELETE**
09-02-2002, 03:57 PM
I thought I'd start a new thread about my problem,
because I think found a clue and I want your opinion
on it.

Yesterday, I did like snoman suggested and swapped my receiver with my aunt for a week. I own a 5100 and she
own a 3100. I went at her place to plug my receiver
I noticed a difference right away : I went into
Menu-6-1-1 to check the signal strength
It was good, around 90%. I left the menu screen
and the picture went back right away. At
my place, with the same receiver (the 5100),
I have the "Acquirring Signal" for 10 to 15 seconds
before the picture would come back.

Now, at my place, with my aunt's 3100, I don't have
that delay. When I leave the menu after checking
the signal, the picture come back instantly.

I must say that before switching, I re-did my connections
to the multiswitch, so maybe I fixed the problem.

Or could it be that the installation in my building
(all rg-59) is ok when used with 3100s, but not good
enough for 5100s?

My question would be : is it normal for a 5100 to wait
10 to 15 seconds for the signal after looking at
the signal strength in the menus?

thanks for your patience.

**DONOTDELETE**
09-02-2002, 04:45 PM
after verification, my 5100 have the same delay
at my aunt's place.

dlg
09-02-2002, 09:55 PM
It's maybe somehow hooked into Starchoice's phone lines. That would certainly account for the delay.


I'm sorry, its been a long weekend.