PDA

View Full Version : EV 3100 Died (I think)



**DONOTDELETE**
03-28-2002, 01:41 AM
The system was working fine yesterday. This morning all I get is "Acquiring Satellite signal...". I tried the power off for system reset. I tried resetting the card. Still no signal. I hooked up an old 2700 receiver and got the four free channels with a very strong signal. Any suggestions what to try on the 3100 before I mail it back to Canada? Anybody else have a similar problem? For my programming interest, the Canadian system is far above DISH and our cable system.

**DONOTDELETE**
03-28-2002, 04:24 AM
What is your signal strength on the 3100? There is a small chance that your problem could have something to do with the firmware update that was sent to some of the 3100 receivers today.

**DONOTDELETE**
03-28-2002, 04:46 AM
You could try resetting the receiver MENU - 6 - 3 - INFO- RIGHT- LEFT (this will bring up the memory dump screen) press TV/VIDEO to reset. The message your non volatile memory has been corrupted...unplug your receiver then plug back in

**DONOTDELETE**
03-28-2002, 03:29 PM
On my 3100, 6-3 only allows me to test the phone connection. I don't have a phone connected. Thanks for the suggestion.
Dave

**DONOTDELETE**
03-28-2002, 03:31 PM
With the 3100, signal is zero. With the 2700, the signal is 80%. Thanks.
Dave

**DONOTDELETE**
03-28-2002, 04:24 PM
MENU - 6 - 3 - INFO - RIGHT(arrow key)- LEFT. This should bring up the memory dump screen on any expressvu receiver.

**DONOTDELETE**
03-28-2002, 04:49 PM
Sorry. On my 3100 system, When you hit Menu, 6(System Setup), 3 (Diagnostics); I get Diagnostic Phone conetion Display. The options are: Connection, DialOut, Cancel and Help.Help only talks about testing for a valid phone connection. Maybe I have an early model before they figured that they might have problems.

The 2700 had a lot of self test options. But it is still working.

Thanks for your interest. Your suggestion may help someone else.
Dave

fmr2002
03-28-2002, 05:45 PM
Did you hit INFO - RIGHT - LEFT, when you are in 6-3 ???

Don't read what's on the screen, follow the instructions.
You'll see "hidden" screen appearing !!!