PDA

View Full Version : Rogers HDTV



**DONOTDELETE**
03-05-2002, 08:18 PM
Hey I heard something very interesting from my friend at Rogers.

Apparently they let you get the HDTV service (on a 'try' basis) even before the area is 750 MHz. Some people report getting higher pixelation with the 600 MHz regular bandwidth, but if you put enough pressure on them they will allow you to test a HDTV receiver in your home.

Has anybody else tried this, or can you guys verify it? I tried myself and the service rep on the phone said that it's true but his system is not updated and he can't pick my area to select which HDTV services to bill for.


/Dan

**DONOTDELETE**
03-05-2002, 10:13 PM
What is the decoder currently being used for HD by rogers?

**DONOTDELETE**
03-05-2002, 10:48 PM
I presently have 2000 HD in Ottawa,although I got one of the original bach when they first came out. I heard that the 3100 HD is out in Toronto or is come out in Toronto, not sure on that perhaps one the Toronto subs could verify this? DigitalCable,JohnnyG,Toronto Viewer?

PEACE UP TOM /forums/images/icons/smile.gif

**DONOTDELETE**
03-05-2002, 10:55 PM
Here in the Toronto Area, we've got both the 2000HD as well as the 3100HD. I got my 3100HD in late Jan. Either way, it's a great deal.

By the way, they just added two more channels TMNHD and PPVHD.

So, now there is: Rogers HD Preview, ABC, CBS, NBC, PBS, Fox (yea, I know only 480p), CDTV (it was up for a while, but not broadcasting at this moment), HDTMN, HDPPV and HDNHL (for games broadcast in HD).

**DONOTDELETE**
03-05-2002, 11:05 PM
Did you all have the area upgraded to 750 MHz before getting the service? Has anybody attempted HDTV over 600 MHz?


Thx.


/Dan

**DONOTDELETE**
03-05-2002, 11:08 PM
My area was already > 750Mhz.

As for getting it in areas that are still 600Mhz, I find it hard to believe. (maybe possible, but questionable)

The channels that Rogers has are in the upper range of 750Mhz. This can be seen by anyone who knows how to see the service menus. /forums/images/icons/wink.gif

In NB and NF, Rogers is rolling out HDTV to non 750 users, but they have a different setup. Also, there will only be one channel that will show what is programmed by Rogers. Much like what the satelite users have.

**DONOTDELETE**
03-05-2002, 11:18 PM
TorontoViewer

What are the differences in the 2000HD & 3100HD decoders?Anything major?

PEACE UP TOM /forums/images/icons/smile.gif

**DONOTDELETE**
03-06-2002, 02:44 AM
A couple of minor things:
1) s-video output for non-hd channels is better than before. You were better off using composite for non-hd.
2) changing channels is faster now.

Nothing that I would say is a must have between the two boxes.

Big_Cheese
03-06-2002, 02:56 AM
Those 3100HD units are the prototypes - not the production HD3100 - so further changes may be seen with production model

**DONOTDELETE**
03-06-2002, 03:18 AM
<blockquote><font class="small">In reply to:</font><hr>

Those 3100HD units are the prototypes - not the production HD3100 - so further changes may be seen with production model

<hr></blockquote> Well, I'd be very happy if they updated the software.

**DONOTDELETE**
03-06-2002, 02:02 PM
Torontoviewer - you said that they added TMN and PPV - I know its early but I would be interested to know if they have any HDPPV programming movies listed. TMN probably has Chocolate &amp; Thirteen Days listed over and over right?

**DONOTDELETE**
03-06-2002, 03:31 PM
They also have 15 Minutes listed for TMN. I quickly scanned the PPV listing and didn't notice anything yet.

Dede
03-06-2002, 03:34 PM
<blockquote><font class="small">En réponse à:</font><hr>

TMN probably has Chocolate &amp; Thirteen Days listed over and over

<hr></blockquote>

See my post "TMN HDTV Schedule"