PDA

View Full Version : Can Enterprise widescreen be Upconverted to HD



Arthur
02-08-2002, 12:14 PM
There is a great C band feed of this Tues nights at 5pm.
After seeing the Super Bowl 480i widescreen upconvert I was thinking how good the C band feed would look.

Is this doable, who do we write?

I'm getting pretty sick of the demo loops, didn't buy my stuff to show off to others, They look great and have there place but I would sooner have a widescreen upconvert.

**DONOTDELETE**
02-08-2002, 09:10 PM
BEV and SC have no rights to take a program off C-Band and rebroadcast it, upconverted or not.

Arthur
02-08-2002, 10:40 PM
Where do you think they get it from?
I really don't know I thought they got it from this C band feed.

snoman
02-08-2002, 10:50 PM
He's right, BEV and SC can't do it but A channel, City tv etc can.

**DONOTDELETE**
02-09-2002, 02:14 PM
<blockquote><font class="small">In reply to:</font><hr>

Where do you think they get it from?
I really don't know I thought they got it from this C band feed.

<hr></blockquote>

They get it from City, Space, A-Channel, CKVU, etc.

In any event, BEV's policy (don't know about Star Choice) is not to show upconverts.

Also, Enterprise is shot in HDTV. It seems kind of silly to downconvert it to analog NTSC and then upconvert it again. It would be nice if UPN would just broadcast it in HDTV to start with.

snoman
02-09-2002, 02:55 PM
The widescreen analog feed us BUDsters enjoy every tuesday at 5 is the Canadian feed without the UPN bug.
The UPN feed is in MPEG2 DVB C band also available ITC if you have the right receiver.

Arthur
02-09-2002, 03:52 PM
I would sure be sweet to have it upconverted the way Fox did the Super Bowl.

snoman
02-09-2002, 06:47 PM
One can always hope it will happen.